Hello World!!

I’m not sure if anyone will actually read this blog. I started it as motivation, hopefully to hold myself accountable when it comes to training. My name is April. I am 29 years old. I am a stay-at-home wife and mother to 3 gorgeous kids under the age of 7. My life is crazy busy and I often neglect one of the most important people-ME! Aside from chasing 3 children and Zumba class once a week, I’m not all that active. Sure, many might say my life is plenty active, but it’s not where I want to be. I put college and a career on the back burner. As I quickly approach 30, I find myself wishing I had accomplished a little more in life. Sure, I adore my family, and couldn’t even begin to be as thankful for my blessings as I would like to be. I wouldn’t trade my life for the world. But I want to hit 30 with a large accomplishment under my belt. So this is where the activity, and the focus of this blog, comes from.

Last summer, after having my youngest baby, I started running again. I ran long distance track in high school. I had a friend who does the Disney Princess Half Marathon every year. In 2011, I watched from my couch as she ran this half marathon 6 months pregnant. I vowed to do it this year. I started off so well, and for several weeks I ran nearly daily. Using the Couch to 5K program, I got back into decent shape pretty quickly. But I was breastfeeding my baby, and this exercise had a major negative impact on my milk supply. One excuse led to another and by fall I had completely quit running. And once again, I watched my friend run the Princess Half again this year. I decided that 2013 will be my year. I will turn 30, and I’d say a half marathon is quite the accomplishment to celebrate for my birthday.

This race is really a win-win for me. As mentioned above, big accomplishment. Lots of health benefits too. And of course, there is the fact that I am a Disney World freak. We go at every chance we get. Since 2007 we have been 5 times, and we’re heading back for a quick 2 day trip this fall when we go down to Florida to visit friends. So the fact that I will get to spend several days at Disney World for this race is a HUGE bonus. Without kids to boot. If I have to run 13.1 miles to get a kid free vacation to Disney World, well I think that’s a pretty fair trade.

So that’s my back story. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

